Subscribe Today! Please read: Readers of local content on the Herald and News website – – will require a subscription beginning today. For the first few months, non-subscribers will still be able to view 10 articles for free. If you are not already a subscriber, now is a great time to join for as little as $10/month!

The 26th annual Klamath Country Volunteer of the Year luncheon celebration will be Tuesday, April 9 at the Klamath Basin Senior Citizens’ Center, during national volunteer week, according to a news release. Lunch will be served from 11:30 a.m. to 12:20 p.m., with the program slated for 12:20 to 1:30 p.m. Participants are encouraged to come early.

A record 40 nominations were received and evaluated by local media members Gerry O’Brien, Paul Hanson, Lyle Ahrens, and Rob Siems. Every nominee will receive an award at the event, and one individual will receive the added distinction of being selected the Klamath Country Volunteer of the Year. Nominees were judged based on leadership, commitment, community impact and achievement.

The individual nominees to be honored include Mark Anthony, Patricia Baumann, Heidi Neel Biggs, Mike Britton, Beverly Coffman, Susie Culp, Christy Dugger, Khrystina Dawes, Kaitlyn Ashley Eskildson, Janelle Fenter, Raelynn and Shannon Feinauer, Tayla Gale, Luke Galloway, Sandra Giles, Sophia Gomez, Gabby Haskins, Franny Howes, Macy Hullman, Caitlin Hulsey, Connie Lakey, Patricia Mendez, Jacob Schlottmann-McGonigal, Rachel Moore, Janah Moorer, Dave Nichels, Mary Prange, George Rogers, Ann Marie Reichman, Rich and Terry Sacchi, Ashlynn Sherrill, Barbara Smith, Jenine Stuedli, Valerie Vance, Doug White and Nancy Zarosinski.

Group nominees include Church of the Nazarene “Night to Shine” program, Citizens for Safe Schools, Henley High School Key Club and the Air Force Junior ROTC, Klamath County Sheriff’s Mature Volunteer program, Sky Lakes Volunteers, and Youth Rising.

“This annual event showcases the true spirit of volunteerism throughout the Klamath Basin,” said event chairperson Marla Edge, in a news release. “The United Way is proud to partner with The Klamath Medical Service Bureau Foundation and the Wendt Family Foundation to make this event possible.”

The master of ceremonies will be Oregon Institute of Technology President Nagi G. Naganathan, Ph.D.

Reservations and advanced payment to the luncheon are required by April 3. The cost is $10 per person. Groups of six or more persons can also be reserved. Nominees and nominators will be admitted as honored guests. For more information or reservations, contact the United Way at 541-882-5558. The current 2018 Volunteer of the Year is Pam Wiersma with the Bonanza Ambulance Service.